The Wheel of Time: Discover the books on which the Amazon series is based

Amazon Prime Video debuted, this Friday (19), the fantasy series The Wheel of Time. The production already has the first three chapters available and will win new episodes every Friday until December 24th.

The new series is an adaptation of a 14-book saga that was released between 1990 and 2013 in the United States. The author of the original story is James Oliver Rigney Jr., an American better known by the pseudonym Robert Jordan. Born on October 17, 1948, in the state of South Carolina, the author passed away in September 2017 at the age of 58.

The literary franchise is considered one of the most successful of all time, having achieved great public and critical success. And taking advantage of the premiere of the Amazon adaptation, the My Series prepared a special content for those who want to delve into this universe. Check out, below, curiosities about the books that serve as raw material for the series The Wheel of Time.

The universe

Already considered a classic of the genre called high fantasy, which unites elements of epic stories and parallel universes, The Wheel of Time (A Wheel of Timein the original) is a franchise that chronicles an unnamed world that is governed by a timeline with no end and no beginning.

Existence in this universe was conceived by the “Creator”, who created the so-called Wheel of Time that turns using the “Unique Power”, which is a magic obtained from the “True Source”. The source is fed by men (the saidin) and women (the saidar), called “channelers” for being able to manipulate this mystical force.

In this context, the main antagonist is Shai’tan, an evil agent who was unleashed by the Aes Sedai (the main channeling organization of this world) during a period called the “Age of Legends”. With the release of the villain, who wants to dominate the Wheel of Time and recreate reality in your own image, the struggle between the forces of darkness and Light begins.

Centuries after these events, the series begins with the life of Rand al’Thor, the main protagonist of the entire story (in the Amazon series, the protagonist chosen was the character Moiraine Damodred). Throughout the 14 books, stories of dozens of characters and different peoples are told, which expand the horizon of the saga and bring an epic tone to the plot.

What is the order of the Wheel of Time books?

Robert Jordan planned that The Wheel of Time was a saga with 6 books, which ended up not happening because the franchise universe grew a lot along the way. The creator was already working on what would be the last book (12th), but ended up dying from heart disease. The fact made the friend and also writer Brandon Sanderson was hired to finish the last work.

With the work progressing to finish the 12th book, Sanderson realized that the last work would be too big and decided to divide it into three. With that, the main series was finished with no less than 14 books published.

Check out the original names and release date of each book in the main series below. The Wheel of Time USA United States:

  • 1. The Wheel of Time: The Eye of the World (January 15, 1990).
  • two. The Wheel of Time: The Great Hunt (November 15, 1990).
  • 3. The Wheel of Time: Dragon Reborn (October 15, 1991).
  • 4. The Wheel of Time: The Rising Shadow (September 15, 1992).
  • 5. A Wheel of Time: The Fires of Heaven (October 15, 1993).
  • 6. A Wheel of Time: Lords of Chaos (October 15, 1994).
  • 7. A Wheel of Time: A Crown of Swords (May 15, 1996).
  • 8. The Wheel of Time: The Path of Daggers (October 20, 1998).
  • 9. A Wheel of Time: Winter’s Heart (November 7, 2000).
  • 10. A Wheel of Time: Crossroads of Twilight (January 7, 2003).
  • 11. The Wheel of Time: Dream Knife (October 11, 2005).
  • 12. The Wheel of Time: The Collective Storm (October 27, 2009).
  • 13. A Wheel of Time: Towers of Midnight (November 2, 2010).
  • 14. A wheel of time: a memory of light (January 8, 2013).

What books from The Wheel of Time are available in Brazil?

With the international success of the books The Wheel of Timethe franchise ended up also arriving in Portuguese in Brazil. The work with the work was carried out by the publisher Intrinseca, which translated and marketed the first of the books on August 28, 2013 here, when the releases of the main saga had already ended.

The Wheel of Time

Currently, the country has already received half of the 14 books of the main plot. See below for the official titles and release dates of the books by The Wheel of Time No Brazil:

Prologues and other adaptations

the universe of The Wheel of Time is quite rich and compared to the Middle-earth of the Lord of the Ringsby writer JRR Tolkien. Because of this, the franchise received prologue stories (like the book new springreleased January 6, 2004) and short stories in anthology format (river of souls2013, and A fire within the pathsin 2019), for example.

And in addition to works in encyclopedia format, which tell more details about the universe and show maps of the world, the franchise has also expanded to other media such as comic books, video games, music and more recently the Amazon Prime Video series.

the fandom of The Wheel of Time it’s so big it even has a convention of its own, called JordanCon in honor of the story’s creator. It has been held annually in Atlanta, Georgia, since 2019 and only stopped happening last year due to the pandemic caused by the coronavirus.

JordanConJordanCon 2021 had a cosplay event.

So, did you know all this information about The Wheel of Time? Leave your comment in the section below!

Image: Watch Wheel of Time on Amazon Prime Video
Image: Tecmundo Recommends

The lives of five young men are forever changed when a strange and powerful woman claims one of them is the child of an ancient prophecy, with the power to alter the balance between Light and Darkness forever.

Leave a Comment